Toshiba Laptop overheat

When I was using Ubuntu or other Linux OS on my Laptop, I forgot about problems with overheating and sudden power off. This problem came up today, I was sitting in front of my computer and it suddenly power off brutally. I wasn’t doing much. I was watching a video in VLC player, playing Settlers Online in Google Chrome and an Antivirus full scan was performed. I know that is the overheat problem because my brother has the same laptop, only with Intel i3 processor, he isn’t a computer guy and likes playing games, so he used Windows all the time and some days ago he told me that his laptop overheats and power offs without warning.

I don’t know what could be the cause of this problem, but I think a simple solution is to reduce the CPU energy.

I have Windows 7 64bit Home Premium so I can’t change the displayed language, since I bought my laptop in Poland, the screenshots will be in Polish, but the options are in the same places for all languages.

Open Control Panel and choose Power Management.

Then click Change power plan settings.

And then Change Advanced Power Settings.

Slide down to Manage CPU energy and change the maximum value to a lower than 100 %. I’ve changed to 90 %.

I don’t know yet if it does help, I’ve ran some stress tests and the laptop stayed cool.

2 thoughts on “Toshiba Laptop overheat

  1. Hey, I got the same problem and resolved it the same way. It is clearly working on windows
    . Additionally it helps to clean the fan.

    1. Good to hear that it helped.

      Since when I decreased the power level my laptop haven’t overheated and therefore it stopped to restart randomly.

Leave a Reply

