Connect Android device to Eclipse in Kubuntu

I have Samsung Galaxy Ace phone and I wanted to run my test applications directly on it. I want to use such devices like compass or accelerometer. When I connected my phone to my computer, the Android Device Chooser showed only question marks and an unknown target type.

This is due to wrong udev rules. lsusb command shows that my phone is:

$ lsusb | grep Samsung
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 04e8:689e Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd

So the vendor ID is 04e8 and the product ID is 689e. I have to edit a udev rules file and add an entry describing this device.

$ cat /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules=
# Samsung Galaxy Ace GT-S5830
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="04e8", ATTRS{idProduct}=="689e", MODE="0666"

$ sudo service udev restart
udev start/running, process 29757

After reconnecting the device, the question marks were replaced by a serial number and the target Android version appeared.

Run the program, select the device and the Hello world application is started on the Samsung phone.

Leave a Reply

